Talent Trees

So, a Shaman is a hybrid class. That means that they can be a jack of all trades. They can melee DPS, they can be caster DPS, they can heal, they bring buffs to the raid and they can interrupt like mad. They are a good all rounder.

According to WoWWiki, it was the class designer’s stated intent that Enhancement would be the levelling tree for the Shaman class. As the class designer knows far more about the class than I ever will, I decided that would be good enough for me, and I put my talent points into Enhancement as soon as I reached level 10.

Utilising the talents in this tree significantly boosts your damage output. Over the levelling period, as I gained more and more totems to assist me, I could take on mobs of three and four at a time without any difficulty at all. The amount of damage being thrown out by the shaman was amazing.

Up to level 40, I carried a 1H mace and a shield. I never bothered buying a shield at any level, I would basically use any green items that dropped or were rewarded for completing quests. The dropped/reward items were more than adequate for my levelling needs. I decided that as soon as I reached level 40, I would learn dual wield and go with two Bind on Account weapons from this point onward.

The Bind on Account weapons I went with are the 1 handed mace Venerable Mace of McGowan and the Balanced Heartseeker dagger.

Shamans learn temporary weapon enchants as they level up through the ranks towards 80. Your initial temporary enchant is Rockbiter weapon which is a straight DPS increase. Different forms of these elemental enchants become available over time offering various enhancements. Flametongue weapon, Windfury Weapon, Frostbrand Weapon and so on.

On the mace I went with Windfury Weapon as the mace has a significantly slower speed than the dagger which was imbued with Flametongue weapon.

As the Shaman’s weapon enchants are temporary they stack with permanent weapon enchants such as Crusader or Mongoose, and their procs can trigger the permanent weapon enchant too. On the 1H mace, I have enchanted it with Crusader. The dagger has an agility enchant on it which is a useful statistic for melee classes.

You should be aware that Bind On Account weapons have an item level of 1 regardless of what level your character is, so enchants like Mongoose that require a minimum weapon level cannot be applied to them.

So, with my dual wield talent in place, my talent tree looks like this: WoWhead Talent Calculator

The next couple of levels I’ll add to Unleashed Rage and gain the Lava Lash talent. These appear to offer me and any raid I’m in a few nice attacking buffs.

I’ve got to get some weapons that are more attuned to a Shaman. The BoA weapons I have are fine and serve me well, but I want to get a couple of Shaman-specific weapons to see if I can utilise the temporary weapon enchants, and get a better knowledge of their mechanic.

Leave a Reply

