Maelstrom Weapon and Power Auras

Stormshaper reached level 56 last night. At level 55, I was able to select the Maelstrom Weapon talent, that requires 45 points in the Enhancement talent tree.

When you deal damage with a melee weapon you have a chance to reduce the cast time of your next Lightning Bolt, Chain Lightning, Lesser Healing Wave, Chain Heal or Hex by 20%. The Maelstrom weapon proc stacks up to five times, meaning that on the fifth stack, whatever spell you choose becomes instant cast.

According to the tooltip, dealing damage causes Maelstrom Weapon to proc. That’s it. If you’re swinging away and hitting things, then you’re due to see Maelstrom Weapon proc sooner or later. It’s not a case of more damage causing more procs, you simply have to be dealing damage full stop. The more points you stack in the talent the more frequent the trigger.

Simple, and effective.

Initially, with the one talent point, I was killing mobs and only saw it stack to five times once. Once Stormshaper hit 56 and I could put two points into the talent, the amount of times I saw five stacks went up enormously. Easily more than double. When I hit five stacks, I could cast a Lightning Bolt instantly, which was a good DPS increase, or, if I was running low on health, instantly cast a Lesser Healing Wave. Basically, any time I had stacks of Maelstrom Weapon up, I would cast *something* to make use of it, as I didn’t want it to go to waste.

With having to watch the amount of Maelstrom Weapon procs, I decided that I’d investigate and see what other Shamans do to monitor their Maelstrom Weapons. Two addons come to the fore; Shock And Awe and Power Auras Classic. As I have Power Auras Classic on my other characters and I am familiar with it, I decided to go with that. I know Shock And Awe is Shaman-specific, and it’s probably a cracking addon, but I like to re-use what I already have, so Power Auras Classic it is.

I could go through a step by step guide to setting up Power Auras Classic to monitor your Maelstrom Weapon procs, but there’s already a superb guide on this very subject on You Tube which is miles better than anything I could do.

My advice is to watch this movie a couple of times, and follow the steps he shows you and before too long, you’ll have your own Maelstrom Weapon procs appearing around your character.

Leave a Reply

