Of Guilds and Beggars

Last night, minutes after Stormshaper hit 80, I queued for a random heroic dungeon. I did it to see what it would give me, given that Stormshaper’s gear is so low, and I was presented with Utgarde Pinnacle.

When I zoned into the dungeon, I explained I was a fresh 80, and yes, my gear was miles off theirs and I had only queued to see what dungeon was presented. I said that I was going to drop out right away, so that they could get another DPS in my place with a lot higher DPS – but they welcomed me into the group and we went on to complete the group.

One of the players in the group, the tank, was on the same realm as me, and we got talking. He offered me a place in his guild, and went on to say that they were nice, decent people and probably could help me get geared up quicker. Now, against my better judgement, I accepted the offer – Stormshaper was 80 now, and with a decent guild perhaps she could become a raid team member. So she joined the Azerothian Warlords on Darkmoon Faire.

Sadly, it didn’t work out.

Today, I’ve ran a couple of random dungeons again. Violet Hold and Culling of Stratholme. Nothing too serious, and I’ve received a few item upgrades along the way. Guild chat was lively but not distracting, but I did notice a couple of people asking over and over for help with quests. I didn’t think much of it – as I carried on doing my own thing. A few other people were asking if they should buy BoE weapons as they’d recently reached 80 and now were finding that they couldn’t get into heroics. I’m not sure why they can’t get into heroics – unless they were trying to run Pit of Saron or Frozen Halls or something. The ‘original’ WoTLK heroics are all available to Stormshaper without any issue.

Then, as I was completing some Argent Tournament dailies, I got a whisper from a level 73 hunter in the guild called Nizha:

Nizha: m8, i could well never lend some g?
Stormshaper: what does that mean? are you asking me for money?
Nizha: if i could borrow not get. you’ll get em bk
Stormshaper: what on earth do you need money for?
Nizha: a really nice trinket
Nizha: i got it 2k creaper (sic)
Stormshaper: what trinket?
Nizha: sec
Nizha: Darkmmon (sic) fair 1
Nizha: Darkmoon Card of Greatness
Stormshaper: why do you think you need that at 73?
Nizha: i need for lvl 80
Nizha: so i got the gear
Stormshaper: in fact – you can’t even use it – its a level 80 trinket
Nizha: i kno
Stormshaper: so you want money from me for something you cant use?
Nizha: m8
Nizha: i’ve been lvling extrem fast
Nizha: wont take long ’til i’m 80
Stormshaper: i know – this is my fifth 80
Nizha: and when i ding lvl 80 i have it
Stormshaper: well – why not save the money you get from questing and when you’re level 80 then buy it?
Nizha: its because i got 1 now which is selling for 2k less than on ah
Stormshaper: great – 2k less but you still can’t use it
Nizha: it wont take long m8
Stormshaper: and its not worth anywhere near 2k anyway
Nizha: yea it is when it my only char on this server
Stormshaper: that’s irrelevant
Nizha: plzz m8
Stormshaper: how will you pay me the money back?
Nizha: all what i lend u and 200g more?
Nizha: trade
Stormshaper: trade? trade what?
Nizha: G
Stormshaper: how will you make the money to pay me back?
Nizha: ahh questing
Nizha: Dailies
Nizha: at lvl 80
Nizha: i got 13k on another char
Stormshaper: well move it – then you don’t need to ask strangers to give you money for something you can’t use
Nizha: i need 1k g m8 plzz
Stormshaper: if you need it so badly – move your char – or ask some other mug to give you 1k
Nizha: he want the money now so i can’t move it..
Stormshaper: unlucky then, and you can move it – it takes less than 1 hour these days – the days of it taking 3 days to move a char are long gone.

The exchange stopped at that point. I have to say that it left me a bit disappointed. I know there are plenty of people out there who will beg for items, but asking a perfect stranger for 1000 gold to buy a trinket that he can’t use? How does that work? If I had 1000g going spare, I’d put it towards buying the same trinket myself.

Regardless, being in a guild – for me – is a means for a group of people to visit instances and raids that they can’t do alone. With the forthcoming changes to guilds in Cataclysm where being in a guild for a long time, and actively contributing to that guild so that everyone gets the associated bonuses is something I am looking forward to immensely. It won’t do away with players like Nizha, who will always be a blight on the game, but it might make guild recruitment a little more astute. You can look at a guild’s achievements and see if you want to be a part of their membership. Sadly, until that day comes, joining a guild is going to be a hit and miss affair and you run the chance of joining a guild that has members like Nizha, and they will try to badger you for your money, your time and your skills and give you nothing back in return.

After the exchange stopped, I decided that Stormshaper doesn’t need to be in a guild that allows members to beg gold from each other, so I /gquit. Now Stormshaper is once again guildless, but do you know what? I don’t think she minds.

Leave a Reply

